The Lady & The Lantern

Dim lit chronicles of the lady and the lantern:

Look at how a single lantern can both defy and define the darkness of mundane life.  Darkness is the tragic hero of the catastrophic phenomenon we call life. In general assumption we all hate or fear the sense of any dark matter but in actuality these time of gloominess are the signifier of the brighter side of affairs. And that tiny bit of light that guides us through the dull corridor of uncertainty is the leap of faith that reignites humanity inside us.

The curse of living in a third world country often knocks at our daily life in different forms. The unglamorous occurrences of load-shedding have certainly become a frequent visitor and have successfully designed a vast impact onto our lives. As much as we hate this state of affairs we cannot deny we all have some mesmerizing memories of power cuts.

I always try to derive stories from mundane as I believe that every great story is ordinary and it’s only the reliability of that commonness makes it extraordinary. This is surely not a planned project and it didn’t even once occur to me while I was taking these photos, these frames were the result of my mere playfulness in sheer boredom in a power-cut struck evening. I was simply trying to capture the daily activities of my mother as she lit up the kerosene lantern to minimize the lure of darkness. It was later that I have realized these frames tell the story of a very common struggle, struggle that millions of people around the world face every day.

Everything in this world is ordinary it’s just our perspective and vision that make them extraordinary. Be it be some bits of my not so happening monotonous surroundings, it is certainly a part of a greater chronicle which narrates my life.

img_6104img_6183builder-of-the-futureimg_6111img_6127img_6132img_6108bnw

 

Dear Reader,
I am using another domain. Kindly visit this site: https://www.subhajitnaskar.com/

9 comments

  1. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your post seem to be running off the screen in Safari.

    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let
    you know. The style and design look great though! Hope you get the issue solved soon. Kudos

    Like

Leave a Reply

